Teaching award nominations open for 2018-19

York Teaching Award

Nominations are being accepted for the 2018-19 James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching.  Fall nominations are open through Dec. 7. Jessica Petko, assistant professor of biology, and James Miller, adjunct lecturer in mathematics, were the 2018 honorees.

Credit: Barbara Dennis

Nominations are being accepted for the 2018-19 James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching.   The award is given annually to recognize any aspect of excellent instruction -- lectures, demonstrations, classroom activities, handling of discussions, individual attention, laboratory instruction, etc. -- that contributes to the academic quality of Penn State York.

The purpose of the award is to recognize excellence in instruction, not to identify the most popular faculty member. The teaching award is named in memory of the late James H. Burness, in recognition of his outstanding teaching and service to the campus. Burness died in December 1999.

All faculty are eligible to be nominated except for recipients of the award in the past four years: Deborah Eicher-Catt and Jon Price (2015), Ali Kara and Walter Arnold (2016), Orsay Kucukemiroglu and Eugene Ellis (2017), and Jessica Petko and James Miller (2018).

Two awards are given: one to a full-time faculty member and one to a part-time faculty member. Do not worry if you are unsure whether a faculty member is full-time or part-time, the Teaching Award Committee will divide the nominations accordingly.

This nomination form is for faculty who are teaching in fall 2018. Be as specific as possible with comments about nominees. When the committee receives something such as "she's a great professor and definitely deserves the award," it doesn't help much in making a decision.

Nominations should be submitted by 5 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 7 using the online form.