Teaching award nominations open for 2019-20 at York campus

Teacing Award York

Nominations are being gathered for the 2019-20 James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching. The fall deadline is Dec. 13. Pictured, from left, at last year's awards program are Nicole Muscanell, assistant professor of psychology and the 2018-19 full-time winner; Jessica Petko, assistant professor of biology and the 2017-18 full-time winner; Janet McNally, adjunct lecturer in business and the 2018-19 part-time winner; and James Miller, adjunct lecturer in mathematics and the 2017-18 part-time winner.

Credit: Barbara Dennis

YORK, Pa. — Nominations are being accepted for the 2019-20 James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award is given annually to recognize any aspect of excellent instruction — lectures, demonstrations, classroom activities, handling of discussions, individual attention, laboratory instruction, etc. — that contributes to the academic quality of Penn State York.

The purpose of the award is to recognize excellence in instruction, not to identify the most popular faculty member. The teaching award is named in memory of the late James H. Burness, in recognition of his outstanding teaching and service to the campus.  Burness died in December 1999.

All faculty are eligible to be nominated except for recipients of the award in the past four years: Ali Kara and Walter Arnold (2016), Orsay Kucukemiroglu and Eugene Ellis (2017), Jessica Petko and James Miller (2018), and Nicole Muscanell and Janet McNally (2019).

Two awards are given: one to a full-time faculty member and one to a part-time faculty member.  Do not worry if you are unsure whether a faculty member is full-time or part-time, the Teaching Award Committee will divide the nominations accordingly.

This nomination form is for faculty who are teaching in spring 2020. Please be as specific as possible with comments about nominees. When the committee receives something such as "she's a great professor and definitely deserves the award," it doesn't help much in making a decision.

Nominations should be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on Friday, March 6, using the online form.